My inner rock chic

So Friday night was the big performance. Meet the Apple Fairies – I’m the one second from the left, next to Phil – King Rocker – who nearly knocked me out with the neck of his guitar on several occasions 🙂

AppleFairies

As you might be able to tell from the picture, I abandoned the egg…I did an informal straw poll. Told everyone how we’d somehow morphed into a new grade of seriosity – being a parent band and all – and how Dave the drummer (hiding at the back there) had given me the low-down. If the egg’s not played properly, I’d rather not hear it at all!

Those words began to haunt me – and I ended up deciding there was no point playing the egg – it was just going to stress me out. And everyone I spoke to agreed – why bother?

So, I felt like a bit of a goon – dancing like a mad-thing and hoping the crowd didn’t realise that I wasn’t actually doing much in the way of musicality.

I did some back-up singing, oohing and ahiing in the right spots and I sang Forever Young solo. The words are so beautiful and I couldn’t resist – I dedicated the song to my two gorgeous daughters (much to their horror!) For those who don’t recall or know the words, here’s a taster:

May God bless and keep you always,

May your wishes all come true…

May you build a ladder to the stars

And climb on every rung

And may you stay, Forever Young.

Baby Bear told me later that I sounded like Bob Dylan – kind of American and grainy – I think this was supposed to be a compliment! I was actually doing Audra Mae’s version which is more folky and pretty than Bob’s – but hey!

Anyway, next year will be my last chance to perform with the Fairies – Baby Bear (sob) will be in Grade 6!

So, I need to find a song that has easy guitar chords, is suited to a female voice, is suitably rocky (the crowd definitely seemed to enjoy the more up-beat numbers) and that I can sing well.

All suggestions welcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

